You work WHERE?!

When I resigned from my successful career a few years ago due to personal reasons, I never expected to find myself working for a sex shop. You see, I’m in my late 30’s, a professional, a mother, someone with 2 advanced degrees, a monogamous lover… How does someone like me end up working in the “sex industry”?

It’s any easy answer, really. I love sex, everything about it. I love the feeling, the release, the skin-to-skin contact, the adventure, the tease, the flirtation, the spontaneity… everything! My friends know this about me. So, when a friend happened randomly upon a job-listing, she called me and insisted I was perfect for the job… at a sex shop.

At first, I was skeptical. Yes, I’ve tried just about everything in the bedroom. Yes, I am comfortable with my sexuality, and even more comfortable with expressing it. I don’t have any problems talking about sex. But, a sex shop? I wasn’t so sure. Yet, I needed a flexible, part-time job. I wanted something fun and stress-free, just to earn some pocket-change until I figured out what next to do with my life. This fit the bill and I decided to at least give it a shot.

It’s been three years now, and I don’t regret it one bit! At some point in my three years, I left the sales floor for a behind-the-scenes role. Some days, I miss my co-workers and customers. They are some of the most open, honest, and real individuals I’ve ever had the pleasure to meet. Sexual preferences and interests are a study in human-nature and personalities. You learn a lot about people when working in such an intimate environment. And, I learned so much about myself, as a woman and as a person. But, it’s honestly been the most fun job I’ve ever had.

So, yes… I work for a sex-shop. It’s not sleazy… at least not at the RedDoor. It’s real, honest work. It’s liberating, enlightening work. It’s humbling, enriching work. It’s fun, exciting work. It fits me, even though I never thought it would…

Leave a Reply

